India vs South Africa: BCCI Announced T20I, ODIS And Tests Squad against South Africa Series

India is prepared for a series comprising three T20 Internationals (T20Is) and One Day Internationals (ODIs), alongside a two-match Test series, as a part of their World Test Championship (WTC) cycle.

Rohit Sharma is ready to captain India in the three-match T20I series for the upcoming South Africa tour, with KL Rahul leading the ODI segment. Previously reported by this publication, Virat Kohli has communicated his choice to take a break to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The tour of South Africa will include three T20 internationals, three ODIs, and two Test matches.

Virat Kohli has communicated to the BCCI and selectors about his decision to take a break from white-ball cricket. He plans to return to them with his schedule for white-ball cricket at a later time. Currently, Kohli has indicated his availability for red-ball cricket, making him eligible for selection in the two Test matches in South Africa, as per a reliable source.

The BCCI has already initiated the visa process for 45 Indian players heading to South Africa, ensuring timely adherence to the schedule. The coaching responsibilities for the India A side will be shouldered by Sitanshu Kotak and Troy Cooley. Meanwhile, VVS Laxman, currently coaching in the ongoing T20I series against Australia, is set to return to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.

Team India Tour of South Africa – T20I

1st T20 International: December 10, 2023, at 9:30 PM IST in Kingsmead, Durban.

2nd T20 International: December 12, 2023, at 9:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha.

3rd T20 International: December 14, 2023, at 9:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

India Squad for 3T20I:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

3ODI Matches:

1st One Day International: December 17, 2023, at 1:30 PM IST in New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

2nd One Day International: December 19, 2023, at 4:30 PM IST in St George’s Park, Gqeberha.

3rd One Day International: December 21, 2023, at 4:30 PM IST in Boland Park, Paarl.

ODIS Squad:

R Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, D Chahar.

2 Tests:

1st Test – Dec 26-30, 2023 at 1:30 PM IST in SuperSport Park, Centurion

2nd Test – Jan 3-7, 2024 at 2:00 PM IST in Newlands, Cape Town

Test Squad India:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Ruturaj, Yashasvi, Iyer, KL Rahul (WK), Bumrah, Kishan, Ashwin, Jadeja, Shardul, Siraj, Mukesh, Shami and Krishna.

Leave a Comment